Softness of the Summer

In the softness of the summer
as I lie upon white sand,
I look in awe and wonder,
at the beauty of the sky.
How I long to be on board
the cloud ships sailing by.

Who is their captain?
How many in the crew?
What distant lands of mystery
are they sailing to?

I let my mind go with them
as heaven’s cannons roar.
Lighting flashes form their guns,
this is a mighty war.

I am brought back to reality,
by warm drops of summer’s rain.
In haste I leave the sandy beach,
I am content within,
because I’ll soon return again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Literary, Literature

Leave a Reply

