The Highway is Lonsome Tonight

The highway is so lonesome to night
I don’t know
If it’s the day it is
Or if it is just the rain
I’ve been standing here forever
Trying to get home to you again

Well I’m standing
At a truck stop
I hope I can
Bum a ride
But all the good old boys
Are drinking coffee
And staying there inside

No one seems
To be in a hurry
To get back on
The road again
Perhaps it is
Just the day it is
Or perhaps
It is just the rain

The highway
Is so lonely tonight
Perhaps it is
Just the day it is
Or it could be
Just the rain
It feels so good darling
To hear your voice again

I better go darling
And try to thumb a ride
Please don’t cry honey
I’ll soon be at your side

They highway
Is so lonely tonight
Perhaps it is
Just is the day it is
Or perhaps it is the rain
Perhaps it is
Just the day it is
Or perhaps it is the rain

Leave a comment

Filed under Love poem, Poem, song poem

Leave a Reply

