Daddy if it stops Raining

Daddy if it stops raining
can we go to the park and play?

I said, “Sorry son,” quite gruffly
“but I’m too busy now,
I promise we’ll go another day,
daddy’s got a lot of work to do.
Run along and play with your toys.”
Tears were coming from blue eyes
streaming down the face
of my darling little boy.

“Daddy it’s stopped raining,
can I go and play with Jimmy?
He’s my very best friend
in the whole wide world?

Yes dear son, have lots of fun,
and look both ways
before you cross the street.

He called to me so sweetly,
“I will daddy, see you later.”

That was the last time
I saw my little boy alive.
Those were the last words
I ever heard him say,
and they will echo in my heart
until my dying day.

“Daddy if it stops raining
can we go to the park and play?
“Of course my son, I’ll make a lunch
and we can spend all day?

My little boy is in Heaven now
with his mummy at his side.

Mommy if it stops raining
can we go to the park and play,
if I meet my  daddy there,
can we stay all day.

1 Comment

Filed under Poem, song poem

One response to “Daddy if it stops Raining

  1. How sad and what a timely message it brings.

Leave a Reply

