Daramlhoardd’s War

“Cradwith, Barowen, go and eat there is plenty of cooked horse meat and wine.” Alderod gave the two guards a cheery smile. “When you are done set up a tent for our lord and master. Make certain the bed is large, soft and comfortable. Daramlhoardd wishes to entertain a lady after he has dined.”
“So that is the way the wind blows,” the pair grinned. “I wonder if he will share the leftovers, when he is satisfied his lust?”
When they vanished into the gathering mist Alderod removed a sharp, curved dagger from a sheath belted around his soft mid section. He put a finger to his mouth as he bent over and cut her bonds. He whispered, “Can you swim?”
There was a slight nod of the golden haired head.
“Come then, you must be away quickly. If I dared to get you a horse I would. When you reach the other side of the river stay in the shallows and wade down river for a few miles.
“Why are you doing this,” the voice could be barely heard over the whisper of the night wind.
“Because my lord and master intends to rape and kill you, besides I believe he’s murdered my wife and children.”  The harsh, cold words sent shivers up her spine. “I am sorry about your horse but if I had refused that cruel order we would both be dead by now. Was that song of your making?” Adlerod held her slender hand as she stepped into the river.
“No,” white even teeth gleamed in the faint moonbeams. “It was my half brother Karodem’s, he has a gift with words. He paints marvellous, life like pictures as well. She sighed, “Poor Xzyander, he will never more frolic in the meadows green.” She let go of his hand and strode out into deeper water.
How did the two of you meet?”
She turned and faced him, “He would often ride out from the nine cities to paint scenes of the Caldor Mountains. I met him there one day when I was out riding on my beautiful Xzyander.”
“How did you know he was your half brother?”
Awarm smile lit up her face, “My mother Angvaradel told me stories about him, ever since I first saw the light of day.”
Many more questions surged through Alderod’s mind but he knew it was far too dangerous for her to stay any longer. “You best be gone my lady Galowyn.”
He stood there until the last ripple from her passage faded away and the waters were once more still. He had one more thing to do this night.

Leave a comment

Filed under fantasy, fiction

Leave a Reply

