Man Child

Euphoria is too small a word
to describe the feelings of joy
that permeate my heart,
mind and soul.

Every atom of my being
is alive with the wonder.

In new, pink, wrinkled perfection
my son stretches, yawns,
then suckles contentedly
at his mother’s breast.

Into this state of ecstasy
doubtful thoughts intrude.
Am I worthy of the task?
Can I guide him along
life’s waiting journey?

Such dark things
must be for tomorrows dawn.
For now I will treasure
this precious moment.

With a humble heart
and a contended mind,
in awe I watch
my man child sleep.

1 Comment

Filed under Literary, Literature, Poem, Poetry For the People

One response to “Man Child

  1. Gayanne Campbell

    Loved this one!!!

Leave a Reply

