The Wages of Sin

I use to mock Christians

and their pious ways,

so I lived out my life

filled with dark sinful days

I knocked on hell’s door

the devil invited me right in,

plied me with women and wine

and chocked up my wages of sin.

I was lucky at cards,

dug myself deep in a hole.

Marked a paper in blood,

promised the devil my soul

Now that I’m older

I realize how foolish I’ve been,

and I spend my time worrying

about my wages of sin.

The wages of sin

are so hard to pay,

but I don’t have to worry

because Jesus paid mine to day.

They nailed him to a cross

on a hill called Calvary,

There he suffered and died

for wretches like me.

Now I won’t go to hell

and suffer all alone

because one sweet day,

I’ll see God on His throne.

I’ll sing with the angels

Face Him without feeling shame

I’ll join a heavenly host

Praising His Holy Name

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

